A Whole New World: The Lee Chapel.

In case you’ve been living under an academic rock for the last semester or two, Lee has been building a new chapel. Some of the details in that linked article may or may not still be true, but the basics are all there: there’s a chapel, it’s not built of red brick, and it’s still on the corner of Ocoee and 11th.

Just the other day, I got the itch to see the inside of the chapel, given my propensity towards building exploration. After some diplomacy I found myself inside the Lee chapel’s sanctuary. As it turns out, there’s more here than just pews and stained glass. Much more. Photos and a bit of a tour are after the jump.

First, a look at the outside at dusk, for posterity’s sake.

As someone who has visited Notre Dame, the Lee chapel rather felt like home. A few weeks ago, I got a bit of a peek ahead of time before the pews were installed.

A few weeks later, we have pews inside.And there’s a wonderfully simplistic chandelier above the altar.

On the southwest side of the altar, there is a large stained-glass window featuring a red flame in the middle.

And as a sidebar, the sun was shining through the window, leaving a nice flame-shaped glow on the floor!

The stained glass behind the stage features a dove in the upper corner.

And in order to satisfy my panoramania, here is a nice panorama taken from the stage facing the back of the room.

Listen, I know that right now this post has all the excitement of an ant pushing a brick across the desert, but it was at this point that I found myself behind the stage, looking down a rather ominous staircase.

At the bottom of the stairway, I found an ominous warning.But since when did we follow orders to “stay out” scrawled on cardboard? I forged ahead, despite Kenny’s admonition otherwise.An inconveniently locked room led to another inconveniently locked door. Through some trickery, I was able to open both doors. I snaked through a rather complex series of twists and turns around half-finished rooms and random construction materials.

A rather lengthy, boring series of air-conditioning units and linear hallways lay before me. Seriously, I haven’t seen this many large metal boxes since my last HVAC convention.

My curiosity was finally rewarded when I stumbled upon a rather large hole in the wall.Upon further inspection, behind it was a rather small switch. I flipped it, at which point a previously unexciting blank wall began to sink, thundering the room as each step slammed into place with great force. I tried to capture video of the sight, but my phone wouldn’t switch from photo to video quickly enough! After the entire staircase had completed its formation, I managed to snap a photo before ascending the steps.At the top, I found myself at one end of a long hallway. Again.

At the other end, I was greeted by a rather large black door.

Upon opening it, I found a single button, labeled simply “Up.” Needless to say, I pressed it. Several seconds later, I was greeted by a simple bell ringing, along with the wall beside the button sliding open to reveal a rather familiar elevator interior.

I stepped inside and pressed a button labeled “B.” The elevator began to ascend, climbing for nearly thirty seconds before the doors opened and revealed a very familiar sight indeed. I stepped out and took in my surroundings…

Come to think of it, I have always wondered why there was a down button on the basement’s elevator panel…Yeah, you heard it here first. The new chapel has a long, secret, extremely boring tunnel to the PCSU. For those of you who want to beat the rush to Subway, you now have your route.

1 Comment

  1. no way! That’s soo awesome! a secret tunnel to the pcsu? intense man… intense…


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.